-

BOOKS

These Lost & Broken Things

Maiden-Mother-Murderer


The year is 1905. London is a playground for the rich and a death trap for the poor. When Sofia Logan’s husband dies unexpectedly, leaving her penniless with two young children, she knows she will do anything to keep them from the workhouse. But can she bring herself to murder? Even if she has done it before…

Emmet Vinsant, wealthy industrialist, offers Sofia a job in one of his gaming houses. He knows more about Sofia’s past than he has revealed. Brought up as part of a travelling fair, she’s an expert at counting cards and spotting cheats, and Vinsant puts her talents to good use. His demands on her grow until she finds herself with blood on her hands.

Set against the backdrop of the Suffragette protests, with industry changing the face of the city but disease still rampant, and poverty the greatest threat of all, every decision you make is life or death. Either yours or someone else’s. Read best-selling crime writer Helen Fields’ first explosive historical thriller. Powerful historical mystery fiction. For fans of Val McDermid and Stuart MacBride.

Perfect Kill
He had never heard himself scream before. It was terrifying.

Alone, trapped in the darkness and with no way out, Bart Campbell knows that his chances of being found alive are slim.

Drugged and kidnapped from his Edinburgh home, the realisation soon dawns that he's been locked inside a shipping container - but what Bart doesn't know is that he's now heading for France, where his unspeakable fate is already sealed....

DCI Ava Turner and DI Luc Callanach are working on separate cases that soon collide as it becomes clear that the men and women being shipped to France are being traded for women trafficked into Scotland.

With so many lives at stake, it seems an impossible task - but there's no option of failure when Bart and so many others will soon be dead....

Degrees of Guilt
He had never heard himself scream before. It was terrifying.
 

Maria is on trial for attempted murder.

She has confessed to the crime and wanted her husband dead.

Lottie is on the jury, trying to decide her fate.

She embarks on an illicit affair with a stranger, and her husband can never find out.

You will think you know who is guilty and who is innocent.

You will be wrong.

A gripping, sexy and twisty novel for readers who devoured ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL, APPLE TREE YARD and HE SAID/SHE SAID.

Perfect Remains

In the concealed back room of a house in Edinburgh, the real Elaine Buxton screams into the darkness....

Detective Inspector Luc Callanach has barely set foot in his new office when Elaine's missing persons case is escalated to a murder investigation. Having left behind a promising career at Interpol, he's eager to prove himself to his new team. But Edinburgh, he discovers, is a long way from Lyon, and Elaine's killer has covered his tracks with meticulous care.

It's not long before another successful woman is abducted from her doorstep, and Callanach finds himself in a race against the clock. Or so he believes.... The real fate of the women will prove more twisted than he could have ever imagined.

Fans of Angela Marson, Mark Billingham, Val Mcdermid and M. J. Aldridge will be gripped by this chilling journey into the mind of a troubled killer.

Crime fiction with a difference.

Perfect Prey

The second in the terrifying DI Callanach crime fiction series. 

In the midst of a rock festival, a charity worker is sliced across the stomach. He dies minutes later. In a crowd of thousands, no one saw his attacker. The following week, the body of a primary school teacher is found in a Dumpster in an Edinburgh alley, strangled with her own woolen scarf. 

DI Ava Turner and DI Luc Callanach have no motive and no leads - until around the city, graffitied on buildings, words appear describing each victim. 

It's only when they realise the words are appearing before rather than after the murders that they understand the killer is announcing his next victim...and the more innocent the better. 

Perfect Death

There's no easy way to die.... 

Unknown to DI Luc Callanach and the newly promoted DCI Ava Turner, a serial killer has Edinburgh firmly in his grip.

 

The killer is taking his victims in the coldest, most calculating way possible - engineering slow and painful deaths by poison, with his victims entirely unaware of the drugs flooding their bloodstream until it's too late. 

But how do you catch a killer who hides in the shadows? A killer whose pleasure comes from watching pain from afar? Faced with their most difficult case yet, Callanach and Turner soon realise they face a seemingly impossible task.... 

Perfect Silence

When silence falls, who will hear their cries?

The body of a young girl is found dumped on the roadside on the outskirts of Edinburgh. When pathologists examine the remains, they make a gruesome discovery: the outline of a doll carved into the victim's skin.

DCI Ava Turner and DI Luc Callanach are struggling to find leads in the case until a doll made of skin is found nestled beside an abandoned baby.

After another young woman is found butchered, Luc and Ava realise the babydoll killer is playing a horrifying game. And it's only a matter of time before he strikes again. Can they stop another victim from being silenced forever

 

- or is it already too late?

Perfect Crime

Stephen Berry is about to jump off a bridge until suicide prevention counsellor Damien Maclure stops him. 

One week later, Stephen Berry is found dead at the bottom of a cliff. But did he take his own life...or was he pushed? 

A spate of murders sweeps across Edinburgh, and to make matters worse for DI Luc Callanach and DCI Ava Turner, the victims seem random and entirely unconnected. 

With no clear method for how the killer chooses their victims, Callanach and Turner are under more pressure than ever to identify the killer before it's too late. But as a separate murder case rears its head and places Callanach as the prime suspect, it seems like this killer might just be uncatchable.... 

For all inquiries,

please contact agent Hardman & Swainson

© 2020 Helen Fields  Books / HS Chandler

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon